ENGINEERING SUBJECT GUIDE

This guide is for students on the Foundation degree in Sports Coaching, Fitness and Rehabilitation programme at City of Oxford College.


Finding books online

There is an electronic reading list for your course. You can follow this link to go straight to the list or you can type FDSPORT15/16 into the Activate Learning Library Catalogue search bar. This is a live link to the library online catalogue which allows you to see where the items are and if they are available on the shelf or when they are due back if they are on loan.



You can also search the catalogue using filters, applying boolean operators and selecting preferred media types.

For example you can apply your search term to Title, Author, Location, Keyword, Subject, Publisher, Location or All fields using the search in filter. You can then build the search by using AND, OR , AND NOT by clicking + and selecting the appropriate operator. You also have the option to select the media type you would like from the drop down box.



Results from this search will include any items that have fitness in the title or listed as a subject.

The catalogue shows resources available at all Activate Learning libraries. If you would like to borrow an item from another library please speak to a member of the team on the issue desk or contact us by email. We will arrange for the item to be transferred to your preferred site.

Finding books on the shelves

You may want to browse the shelves. Books are organised by subject and given a shelfmark which consists of numbers and letters. Shelfmarks for books are displayed on the catalogue so you can locate the book, books nearby will be similar in subject so may also be useful.

  • Books on Nutrition, Fitness and Sports Injuries can be found at 613 through to 617.
  • Books on specific sports, Sports Studies and Sports Coaching start at 796.


Reservations

You can also reserve items that are on loan from any site. You can do this yourself by selecting the Reserve button under the image, you will need to log into your Heritage account by entering your student ID number. A member of the team will contact you when your items are available for collection.



Your Library Online account

Logging into your Heritage account allows you to view the items you have on loan and reserved, you can also renew items and view your loan history. Log in using your student ID number.


eBooks

eBooks are listed on the online catalogue and can be recognised by the [E-book] symbol next to the entry.

To access an eBook look at the detailed entry for the item and click on the Read me… button. You can access eBooks offsite, the username and password are the same as your college network login details. Don’t forget, you can filter your search in the online catalogue to show only eBooks. Or click here to browse our eBook collection by category.

You also have access to The Complete Sports Science Training Library, a collection of 91 eBooks, using your Oxford Brookes login. You can access other recommended eBooks provided by Oxford Brookes through the subject help page, you will need your Oxford Brookes login details to do this.


How to find journals and journal articles

UK Newsstand allows you to search through a large range of major national newspapers and local news publications, you’ll need your college network login details to access it.

There are journals relevant to your studies available from the library:

  • SportEx Medicine   Print copy available at Oxford and online via Oxford Brookes

  • SportEx Dynamics Print copy available at Oxford and online via Oxford Brookes

Further journals are also available in print and electronically through the Oxford Brookes library. You can access them by searching for e-journals by title,  you will need your Oxford Brookes login details. Some journals have an embargo, meaning that electronic access is delayed for a period of time, details are provided for individual titles. If you don’t know which journal would be most useful to you, can search the databases by topic (see next section).


Using databases

Primal Pictures contains information on human anatomy and physiology, including: 3D images, interactive models, dissection slides, clinical case studies and more. You’ll need your college login details to access it.

You can access recommended databases provided by Oxford Brookes through the subject help page, you will need your Oxford Brookes login details to do this. Available databases include:

  • SPORT Discus

  • Comprehensive Physiology

  • Academic Search Complete

  • Routledge Online Studies on the Olympic and Paralympic Games

  • Education Research Complete

  • PubMed

  • PsycINFO

  • Web of Science


Study skills and referencing

There are a wide range of study skills books available in our libraries, you can find a selection on this electronic reading list or browse the Study Skills section in the Library.

Cite them right online provides guidance for referencing many different sources, you will need your Oxford Brookes login details to access it.

You can also find advice about study skills and referencing on the Study Skills website.


Using other libraries

As an Activate Learning student you can use the libraries at Banbury College and Reading College if that is convenient for you.

You have access to Oxford Brookes resources, both physical and electronic. You will need your Oxford Brookes login details to access the electronic resources. There are links on our website in the Higher Education section that take you to Oxford Brookes library information, subject help and the catalogue.

You may also find useful information at your local public libraries, they are free to join and provide online reference material, some of which can be accessed at home.

For more information visit the Oxfordshire county libraries website.

Contact us

City of Oxford College Library: 

email library-oxford@activatelearning.ac.uk 
Telephone 01865 551961

Website 

http://library.activatelearning.ac.uk

Twitter 
@ActivateLibrary

Or in person during library opening hours


Where to get help

You can contact the library team or access information using the links on the right.