ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING SUBJECT GUIDE


         

This guide is for students on the HND in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Reading College.


How to find books

You can follow this link to view an electronic reading list for your course or you can type HNDE&EENGINEERING into the Activate Learning Library Catalogue search bar. This is a live link to the library catalogue which allows you to see if items are available on the shelf or when they are due back if they are on loan.

You can also search the catalogue using filters, applying Boolean operators and selecting preferred media types.

For example you can apply your search term to: 
  • Title, Author, Location, Keyword, Subject, Publisher, Location or All fields using the search in filter. 
  • AND, OR , AND NOT to build your search by clicking + and selecting the appropriate operator. 
  • Media Type can be selected from the drop down box.


Results from this search will include items that have electronic in the title and engineering listed as a subject.
If you know the title of the book you are looking for you can use a guided search by selecting that option from the tabs at the top and entering the details.




For more help using the catalogue you can watch this
short clip from the using the libraries section on the website or ask a member of the team in the Library for help.


eBooks

eBooks are listed on the catalogue and can be recognised by the [eBook] symbol next to the entry. To access an eBook look at the detailed entry for the item and select the link that says Read me…. (click for online e-book). You can access eBooks offsite, the username and password are the same as your college network login details.

You can search for just eBooks by changing the Media type to eBook from the drop down list.


You can view a selection of engineering related eBooks by following this link or you can type HNDENGEBOOKS into the Activate Learning Library Catalogue search bar. You can also click here to browse our eBook collection by category.


         


For more help using eBooks you can watch this 
short clip from the using the libraries section on the website or ask a member of the team in the library for help.


Finding books on the shelves

You may want to browse the shelves, books are organised by subject and given a shelfmark which consists of numbers and letters. Shelfmarks for books are displayed on the catalogue so you can locate the book, books nearby will be similar in subject so may also be useful. 

  • Books on Maths can be found at 510.
  • Books on Engineering start at 620 with books on Electrical Engineering at 621.33 and Electronic Engineering at 621.38.


Your Library Online account

Logging into your Heritage account allows you to view the items you have on loan and reserved, you can also renew items and view your loan history. Log in using your student ID number and your date of birth DDMMYYY.

For more help using your Heritage account, you can watch this short clip from the using the libraries section on the website or ask a member of the team in the library for help.




Reservations

By logging in to your account you can place reservations on items that are on loan, this will stop the current user from renewing the item and you will be contacted by the Library when the item is ready for collection.


You can also reserve items from any of the  Activate Learning Libraries in the same way. If the item you require is held at another Library you can reserve it by logging into the catalogue and clicking Reserve on the detailed record for the item. The item will be transferred to Reading Library and a member of the team will contact you when it is ready for collection.


Alternatively speak to a member of the team at the issue desk and they will help you arrange for the item to to transferred.



How to find journals and online resources

Reading journals and magazines allows you to keep up-to-date with developments in the sector; read reviews and news and follow current trends.


Journals
The Library holds reference copies of some technology related journals. You can read them in the library or photocopy articles to take away. Journals available at Reading Library include:

  • .net
  • Computer Active
  • Everyday Practical Electronics
  • New Scientist


Online resources

You can also access journals and magazines online. Recommended websites for your course include:

High Voltage
 - an open access journal co-published with CEPRI (the China Electric Power Research Institute) containing original research papers and review articles. The scope covers high-voltage power engineering and high voltage applications, including experimental, computational (including simulation and modelling) and theoretical studies.

The Engineer - an online magazine covering the latest developments and business news in engineering and technology in the UK and internationally.

Engineering & Technology Magazine - is aimed at professional engineers and covers all areas of engineering and technology including news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts. It is published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology and all content is freely available online.

SciCentral - a database of freely available research news from reputable and reliable sources. There is a section dedicated to the latest advances in Engineering.




    Google Scholar
     is a customised search engine and tool specifically designed to help both students and academics find scholarly research, including articles, books and university theses.

    Unlike a standard search engine it aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature. You can sort your results by year to find the newest research or click Cited by or Related articles to find similar work. This means it is easier to find the most relevant and reputable articles for your subject. It will also provide you with references ready to drop straight into your own work.



    Study skills and referencing


    Good study skills allow you to get the most out of your time in college, work efficiently and achieve good grades on your course.
    Referencing is vital to avoid plagiarism and to give credit to other author’s work and ideas you have used.


           


    There are a wide range of study skills books available in our libraries, you can find a selection on this list or browse the study skills section in the library.


    Using other libraries

    As an Activate Learning student, you can use the libraries at City of Oxford College and Banbury College if that is convenient for you.

    If you have student membership for The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)  you are able to access the physical library and archive in London as well as the virtual library which consist of thousands of online eBooks, eJournals, magazines and reports. The virtual library is free to use as part of your membership benefits; log on to the IET website to gain instant access 24/7. You can search the full library catalogue here.

    Several public libraries, including Reading Central Library, are part of the Access to Research scheme. This enables you to access academic research for free from your public library. You can browse the catalogue and read abstracts from home on the initiative’s website, then read the full text of the publication in your nearest participating library. You can also use the website to discover which publications and which libraries are involved.

    For more information visit the Reading Libraries website.

    Where to get help

    You can contact the library team or access information about our services in a number of ways:

    Email         library-reading@activatelearning.ac.uk

    Telephone         0118 955 4700

    Website                 library.activatelearning.ac.uk

    Twitter                 @ActivateLibrary

    Or in person during library opening hours.