BUSINESS A-LEVEL PATHWAY SUBJECT GUIDE

This guide is for students studying an A-Level Business programme on any site. It includes the subjects: Business Studies, English Language and Literature, Geography, Government and Politics, History, Law, Maths, Psychology, Religious Studies, and Sociology.


How to find books

There is an electronic reading list available for your subject. You can access this either by searching for the subject code on the Activate Learning Library catalogue or by following the hyperlinks below.


Business Studies  or use subject code ALBUSINESS
English Language & Literature   or use subject code ALENGLISH
Government and Politics  or use subject code ALPOLITICS
History  or use subject code ALHISTORY
Law  or use subject code ALLAW
Maths  or use subject code ALMATHS
Psychology  or use subject code ALPSYCHOLOGY
Religious Studies  or use subject code ALRELIGIOUSSTUDIES
Sociology  or use subject code ALSOCIOLOGY

 

 

You can also use advanced search to search the catalogue for relevant books using several filters:

You can apply your search term to categories such as Title, Author, Location, Keyword, Subject, Publisher, or All Fields using the Search In dropdown menu.
You can select the media type you would like to see using the Media Type drop down menu.
You can use multiple search terms in different categories by clicking the + button and selecting AND, OR, or AND NOT.
 

Search options 1.jpg

 
 

If you know the title of the book you are looking for you can use a guided search by selecting that option from the tabs at the top and entering the details.

 

For more help using the catalogue you can watch this short clip from the using the libraries section on the website or ask a member of the team in the library for help.


Finding books on the shelves

You may want to browse the shelves, books are organised by subject and given a shelfmark which consists of numbers and letters. Shelfmarks for books are displayed on the catalogue so you can locate the book. Books nearby will be similar in subject so may also be useful.

You can start looking for each subject at:

Business Studies 658
English Literature and Language texts 428
Government and Politics 320 - 328
History 930 - 990
Law 658
Maths 510
Psychology 150
Sociology 300 - 301
 

Your online Account

Logging into your Heritage account allows you to view the items you have on loan and reserved. You can also renew items and view your loan history. Log in using your student ID number and your date of birth DDMMYY.

 

You can also view a short clip for help on how to log into your account.

 

login with pin and circle.PNG

 

Reservations

By logging into your account you can place reservations on items that are on loan, this will stop the current user from renewing the item and you will be contacted by the library when the item is ready for collection.

 

Search options 2 - reservation.jpg

 

You can borrow items from any Activate Learning library, if the location of the item you require is not your local library click on the Reserve button in the detailed record. The item will be transferred to your local library and a member of the team will contact you when it is ready for collection. Alternatively speak to a member of the team at the issue desk and they will help you arrange for the item to to transferred.


eBooks

eBooks are listed on the catalogue and can be recognised by the [E-book] symbol next to the entry. To access an eBook look at the detailed entry for the item and select the link that says Read me…. (click for online eBook). You can access eBooks offsite, the username and password are the same as your college network login details. eBooks are included in the subject reading lists.

 

You can search for just eBooks by changing the Media type to E-book from the drop down list.

 

For more help using eBooks you can watch this short clip from the using the libraries section on the website or ask a member of the team in the library for help.

 

How to find journals and newspaper articles

Reading journals and magazines allows you to keep up-to-date with developments in the sector; read reviews and news and follow current trends. Journals and newspapers are for reference only, you can read the journals in the library or photocopy/scan articles to take away but you can’t borrow them.

 

The following journals are available across Activate Learning, check in your local library to see which titles they hold:

 

Business

The Business Magazine
Business Review
Business Voice
Campaign
Economist
Executive Secretary
Management Today
Marketing Week
New Internationalist
People Management
The Week
 

English Language and Literature

English Review
 

Government and Politics

New Internationalist
New Statesman
 

History

History Today
Modern History Review
 

Law

A-Level Law Review
 

Psychology

Psychology Review
 

Sociology

Sociology Review
 

In addition to these journals each library gets a selection of newspapers daily. UK Newsstand allows for you to search a wide range of national and local newspapers by topic or bibliographical information. Titles include The Business, Financial Times, and the New Statesman.

 

eResources

You can find eResources under that title on the library website, theses are online resources you can use to support you on your course. Some are available only whilst in college, others require a username and password but can be accessed from anywhere.

 

e-Law Student provides lectures, cases, articles, and multiple choice tests aimed at both AQA and OCR Law syllabuses. There’s a brief help sheet for navigation available here.

 

History Study Centre is a collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day. It’s organised into into categories of study units, historical documents, maps and reference, multimedia, and journals which each have their own search function. There’s also a timeline of events to scroll through on their home page. It can be accessed at college or home. If you are asked for login details enter your usual college id number and password.

Issues  provides a basic overview for a range of subject areas including Crime & Justice.  There is an ebook library you can browse in addition to articles, statistics and links to useful websites. It can be accessed at college or home, If you’re asked for login details enter your usual college id number and password.

 

The resource also includes research tips to help with referencing, critical thinking and website evaluation.

 
 

Very Short Introductions offers short and insightful introductions into various topics within Psychology and Social Sciences.

 

Study skills and referencing:

Good study skills allow you to get the most out of your time in college, work efficiently and achieve good grades on your course.

Referencing is vital to avoid plagiarism and to give credit to other author’s work and ideas you have used. Check with your tutor which system they would like you to use. The library holds copies of Cite Them Right which provides guidance how to cite your sources in the body of the text and prepare your reference list.

 

 

There are a wide range of study skills books available in our libraries, you can find a selection on this list or browse the study skills section in the library.

 

Using other libraries:

As an Activate Learning student you can use the libraries at City of Oxford College, Banbury and Bicester College or Reading College, whichever is most convenient for you.

You may also find useful information at your local public libraries which are free to join.

For more information visit the Oxfordshire county libraries website or Reading Borough Council Website.


Where to get help:

You can contact the library team or access information about our services in a number of ways.

Email library-reading@activatelearning.ac.uk   Telephone 0118 955 4700

Email library-oxford@activatelearning.ac.uk     Telephone 01865 551961

Website library.activatelearning.ac.uk

Twitter @ActivateLibrary

Or in person during library opening hours